Thirteen years ago, the Nano-Optoelectronics Workshop was held for the first time.  Since then it has grown to be an international venue for immersive engagement among researchers from academia and industry who are involved in nanoscale materials and optoelectronic devices.  In 2018, we welcome researchers from all over the world to return to the University of California, Berkeley, the birthplace of iNOW, as Berkeley celebrates the sesquicentennial of its founding.  Where better for iNOW 2018 to take place?  iNOW 2018 will be celebrating the advances of optoelectronics amid Berkeley’s celebration of 150 years of lighting educational pathways that have prepared generation after generation of researchers and have provided social mobility for many.  Moreover, for 150 years Berkeley has lit the path of discovery, resulting in research breakthroughs that have fundamentally changed society, and has served as the home institution for many Nobel Laureates.

We welcome leaders in research and development, as well as students and postdoctoral scholars, to join us for a weeklong sharing and discussion of ideas on state-of-the-art nanoscale semiconductor processing and synthesis, the new physics behind controlling the optical and electrical properties of materials, cutting edge characterization techniques, and new devices with novel functionalities.  iNOW 2018 features 36 invited tutorials by leading researchers, 75 posters from students and postdoctoral scholars, and 2 panel discussions.  To enable an atmosphere of exchange, there will also be several social events, such as group dinners and a half-day excursion. There will be ample opportunity for all to share, discuss, debate, network and celebrate in a collegial and fun atmosphere.

Join us at iNOW 2018.  We look forward to seeing you at UC Berkeley in July.



Connie Chang-Hasnain, University of California, Berkeley, USA

James Harris, Stanford University, USA

Fumio Koyama, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Dieter Bimberg, Technical University of Berlin, Germany


Steering Committee

Yasuhiko Arakawa, University of Tokyo, Japan

Dieter Bimberg, Technical University of Berlin, Germany

Connie Chang-Hasnain, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Vladimir Dubrovskii, St. Petersburg Academic University, Russia

Alfred Forchel, Universität Würzburg, Germany

James Harris, Stanford University, USA

Yidong Huang, Tsinghua University, China

Fumio Koyama, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Yi Luo, Tsinghua University, China


Local Organizing Committee

Connie Chang-Hasnain
Alice Tsai
Jo Yuen
Therese George

Technical Topics of iNOW 2018



LIDAR, applications and systems

Photonic devices for life sciences and environment

High-speed lasers and detectors

Integrated photonic circuits

Widegap materials and devices


Quantum well, quantum dot and quantum cascade lasers

Plasmonics and left-handed materials

Metasurfaces and Metastructures

Photonic crystals

Quantum dots and nanowires

Growth of nanostructures